Town of Amherst Municipal Election - Notice of Poll

October 17, 2020

Take notice that the following nominations have been received in respect to the Municipal Election to be held in the Town of Amherst on Saturday, October 17, 2020. Electors may vote between 8:00am and 7:00pm on Election day, or, if they are qualified to do so, at the Advanced Polls which will be available from October 5, 2020 at 12:00 Noon local time until 7:00 p.m. on October 17, 2020.

All voting is via internet or telephone. There are no paper ballots. All qualified voters properly entered on the list of electors will receive a Voter Instruction letter with their voter credentials and detailed instructions.

For the Office of Mayor: (vote for one)

  • David KOGON
  • Vaughn MARTIN

Councillors: (vote for not more than six)

  • George BAKER
  • Vince BYRNE
  • Sheila CHRISTIE
  • Lisa EMERY
  • Paul "Skippy" FARROW
  • Darrell JONES
  • Leon LANDRY
  • Wayne "Butch" MACKENZIE

Conseil Scolaire Acadien Provincial (CSAP) School Board Member — Truro District

  • Jerome BREAU
  • Jessica HINTON

To vote in the CSAP election, you must meet the residency requirements. You must be a Canadian citizen. Your first language learned AND still understood is French OR You received your primary school instruction in Canada in a French FIRST LANGUAGE program or your child has received or is receiving primary or secondary school instruction in a French FIRST LANGUAGE program.French Immersion is NOT a French First Language program.

Plebiscite Question: (vote yes or no)

Should the Town of Amherst fluoridate the municipal water upply?

Dated this 8th day of September, 2020
Kimberlee J. Jones, Returning Officer


Revision of The Preliminary List Of Electors

The Town Of Amherst Municipal Election Will Be Held On Saturday, October 17, 2020

The preliminary List of Electors has been prepared for the upcoming election. The revising officer(s) may make additions or corrections to the list upon application by telephone, e-mail, or in person. Electors may find out if they are on the list of electors by:

  • Visiting the Amherst Town Hall, Monday – Friday between the hours of 8:30 a.m. – 4 p.m. for the period from August 10 to August 25 at 98 Victoria St., Amherst, N.S.
  • Or contacting the Returning Office between the hours of 8:30 a.m. – 4 p.m. (Mon. – Fri.) from August 10 to August 25 by telephone: (902) 667- 6523 or (902) 667-3352 or by email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • You will be asked for your name, civic address and your date of birth.

Revision of the Voters List will take place from August 10 – August 25. If you have moved recently you should call immediately to avoid confusion or delays on election day.

Kimberlee Jones, Returning Officer


The municipal election for the Town of Amherst will occur on October 17, 2020. Voters will be choosing one Mayor and six Councillors at large.

 VotePhoneImage 1