Media Releases

Council makes appointments to boards, committees

Amherst town council approved appointments to several boards and committees when it met in regular session on Monday, March 27, 2023.

Charlie Chambers, who was recently elected to council in a February byelection, was appointed to the Planning Advisory Committee for a term ending on Oct. 31, 2023, the Amherst Board of Police Commissioners, Committee of the Whole and Audit Committee, with the terms for the latter three running until Oct. 31, 2024.

Ron Wilson and Creighton McCarthy were reappointed to the town’s Planning Advisory Committee as citizen appointees for two-year terms ending on March 31, 2025, while Jim Lamplugh was appointed to a one-year term, ending on March 31, 2024.

Keith Thompson was appointed as a citizen representative to the North Tyndal Wellfield Advisory Committee for a one-year term, ending on March 31, 2024.

Melissa Anne Johnson and Lynne Welton were appointed as the town’s citizens representatives on the Intermunicipal Poverty Reduction Advisory Committee for a one-year term, ending on March 31, 2024.

Sandy Fairbanks was appointed to the Amherst Board of Police Commissioners as a citizen representative for a one-year term, ending March 31, 2024.

Marina Godfrey, Matthew Medland and Joanne Hopper were appointed as citizen representatives to the town’s Accessibility Advisory Committee for two-year terms, ending March 31, 2024.

All the citizen appointments fill positions that expire at the end of March 2023.

As an organization, having citizens volunteer to serve their community in this manner is invaluable. Citizens bring new ideas, experiences and input into policy development, strategic direction and can assist staff and council in the decision-making process.